Due to COVID-19 our offices in Frankfort are currently closed and we are not seeing visitors. For enrollment questions, please utilize the resources on our website and through our call center, which can be reached at 1-800-928-4646. We know your time is important, so if you call you can use our call-back assist feature, which allows you to leave your telephone number and receive a call back without having to wait on hold.
If you have questions, visit our
Contact page or email us at
Please refer to our
Plan Year 2021 Open Enrollment book for more information.
Other helpful resources include, for
new retirees, the
New Retiree Health Insurance Enrollment Book, and for those experiencing a
Qualifying Event, the
Qualifying Events Insurance Book.
Hazardous Duty Retiree: Yearly Requirement
All plans require a LivingWell Promise for 2021, don’t forget to take your Biometric Screening or online Health Assessment within 90 days.
If you enrolled in a LivingWell Plan option for 2020 and you did not fulfill your LivingWell Promise, you will be responsible for the LivingWell fee of an additional $40.00 per month. This will be paid by the retiree / planholder / beneficiary if you enroll in a Kentucky Employees Health Insurance Plan (KEHP) for 2021.
Take the LivingWell Promise
If you fail to complete your promise in 2021 you will be responsible for an additional LivingWell fee for 2022 plan year. Click here for more information. If you have questions about whether you have completed the LivingWell Promise, contact StayWell/WebMD at 866-746-1316 or visit
Have more questions? Call the KPPA Call Center 502-696-8800 (Frankfort) or 1-800-928-4646 (Toll-Free).
- No Dental or Vision coverage is available for Non-Medicare Retirees through Anthem; however, please see optional available coverage by visiting the Vision and Dental section of our
Books and Guides page.
- New insurance cards will only be issued if you change plans. If you do nothing, please keep the same card you have in your possession because you will not receive a new one. If you have lost your card you may print a new card or request a replacement by contacting
Members With Participation Date Prior to July 1, 2003
In order to determine your cost for coverage in 2021, please refer to the guides below.
2021 Nonhazardous Duty Retiree/Percentage Contribution
|Months of Service||Contribution
|240+ months or more - Contribution based on Plan selected||
LivingWell CDHP $732.26
LivingWell Limited High Deductible Plan $626.48
LivingWell Basic CDHP $704.08
Nonhazardous Duty Beneficiaries Receiving Benefits
*KPPA does not pay a contribution for coverage on behalf of a beneficiary receiving a monthly retirement benefit. Beneficiaries obtaining coverage should enter "$0.00" for the percentage contribution. Exception: If you are a spouse beneficiary or a dependent child receiving a monthly benefit under the Fred Capps Memorial Act, contact KPPA.
2021 Hazardous Duty Retiree/Percentage Contribution
|Months of service||Contribution
|240+ months or more - Contribution based on Plan selected||$753.76
Children Eligible for Coverage and Premium Contributions:
For Plan Year 2020, the spouse and each dependent child of retired hazardous members of KERS, CERS, and SPRS, as well as some disabled members, may be eligible to receive an insurance contribution based upon the retired member’s service. Pursuant to Kentucky Revised Statute 16.505(17), “Dependent child” means Dependent Eligibility & Verification for Health Insurance For Hazardous Duty Retirees with Health Insurance Dependents child in the womb and a natural or legally adopted child of the member who has neither attained age eighteen (18) nor married or who is an unmarried full-time student who has not attained age twenty-two (22). Solely in the case of a member who dies as a direct result of an act in line of duty as defined in this section or who dies as a result of a duty-related injury as defined in Kentucky Revised Statute 61.621, “dependent child” also means a naturally or legally adopted disabled child of the member, regardless of the child’s age, if the child has been determined to be eligible for federal Social Security disability benefits or is being claimed as a qualifying child for tax purposes due to the child’s total and permanent disability; (See 105 KAR 1:410). Retired members with children who do not meet this definition may be able to cover their children under the KEHP plan, but will not receive a contribution amount toward the coverage of those children.
Establishing Eligibility: To establish your child’s eligibility for the hazardous contribution toward health insurance for 2020, you must certify the child’s eligibility on a completed Form 6256 - Designation of Spouse and/or Dependent Child for Health Insurance. This certification form must be completed annually to receive the contribution. If you submit the required certification and your child is an eligible “dependent child” pursuant to Kentucky Revised Statute 16.505(17), the contribution will be made for the applicable plan year. Additionally, you must certify that you will immediately provide KPPA written notification when your child no longer qualifies. You will be required to reimburse KPPA for premiums paid if you make a false or incorrect certification that a child meets the eligibility requirements or if you fail to immediately notify KPPA when a child no longer meets the eligibility requirements.
Children Eligible for Coverage: Pursuant to the Affordable Care Act, children are eligible to remain covered by the parent or guardian’s health insurance until the first day of the month following their 26th birthday regardless of marital status. Step-children, foster children, and children for whom you have been named guardian may also remain on the plan until the first day of the month following their 26th birthday. (In some cases, disabled dependents can be carried past their 26th birthday.)
Spousal Coverage: If your spouse has health insurance under your account, a Form 6256 - Designation of Spouse and/or Dependent Child for Health Insurance must be completed and submitted to KPPA before the beginning of each plan year, or immediately following a qualifying event, for your spouse to receive the hazardous contribution toward health insurance for that plan year. If you divorce a spouse who is covered by health insurance under your KPPA account, you must notify our office promptly. An ex-spouse is not eligible to remain on your plan. You must submit a new health insurance application with your ex-spouse removed (or a signed written statement to completely cancel a plan) to this office as soon as the divorce is final. A copy of the Dissolution of Marriage must be provided to KPPA as soon as that is available. Without proper notification and documentation, you will be required to reimburse KPPA for premiums paid on behalf of an ex-spouse who is no longer eligible for health insurance under your account.
2021 Amount KPPA Pays for Dependent Coverage - Hazardous Duty Only** / Percentage Contribution
|Months of Hazardous Service||Amount KPPA Pays Toward Parent Plus||Amount KPPA Pays Toward Couple Plan||Amount KPPA Pays Toward Family Plan||Amount KPPA Pays Toward Family X-Ref***
**The amounts paid in the table above are in addition to the amounts in Hazardous Duty Retiree Percentage Contribution table, based on overall service and hazardous service earned by retiree. Contact spouse's Insurance Coordinator for information on spouse's portion of premium.
***If you have at least 48 months of hazardous service, the cross-reference option is selected, and the retiree has a surplus of contributions to cover the retiree's portion of the premium, the surplus will be applied to the spouse's portion of the premium.
****Add the value for the Tobacco Usage to the overall cost of your premium.
TOBACCO USER NOTICE****
Regardless of the amount of service, type of service, or plan chosen, the member will pay the fee of $40.00 for a single plan and $80.00 for a Parent Plus, Couple, or Family Plan based on the Tobacco Status in Table Four.
LIVINGWELL PROMISE NOTICE:
Regardless of the amount of service, type of service, or plan chosen, the plan holder will pay the fee of $40.00 (LivingWell Promise fee) if they failed to complete the LivingWell Promise in 2019.
Dollar Contribution Rates Plan Year 2021
Is your Participation Date After July 1, 2003?
See the Dollar Contribution Rates Below.
If you began participating on or after July 1, 2003, please read the information below. If you have additional questions call KPPA at 1-800-928-4646 (Toll Free) or 502-696-8800(Frankfort).
Use this guide if you are receiving benefits, were hired July 1, 2003 or later, and began participating with KPPA between August 1, 2004 and August 31, 2008.* Or began participating with KPPA on or after September 1, 2008.**
*In order to be eligible for health insurance benefits, you must have 120 months of service upon retirement.
**In order to be eligible for health insurance benefits, you must have 180 months of service upon retirement.
For service in a nonhazardous position, you will receive a monthly dollar contribution of $13.78 for each year of service per month. The Dollar Contribution will increase by 1.5% on July 1.
i.e. if you began participating September 1, 2003 in a nonhazardous position, and retired effective October 1, 2013, you would receive $137.80 per month towards health insurance premiums.
For service in a hazardous position, you will receive a monthly contribution of $20.68 for each year of service per month. The Dollar Contribution will increase by 1.5% on July 1.
i.e. if you began participating September 1, 2003 in a hazardous position, and retired effective October 1, 2013 you would receive $206.80 per month towards health insurance premiums.
If you have hazardous and nonhazardous service, you will receive contribution based on the amount of full years of service for each.
i.e. if you began participating September 1, 2003 in a nonhazardous position until September 30, 2008 (5 years x $13.78 = $68.90), and then began participating October 1, 2008 in a hazardous position, and retired effective November 1, 2013 (5 years x $20.68= $103.40), you will receive $172.30 per month towards health insurance premiums ($68.90 + $103.40 = $172.30).
If you have a partial year of hazardous service and a partial year of nonhazardous service, they can be combined to equal a full year, you will receive 1 year of non-hazardous service.
i.e. if you have 9 years and 6 months of nonhazardous service and 6 months of hazardous service, your insurance contribution will be based on 10 years of nonhazardous service. You will receive $137.80 per month towards health insurance premiums.
If you are receiving a monthly retirement benefit, that qualifies you to receive a Health Insurance Percentage contribution and also receiving a monthly retirement benefit that qualifies you to receive a Health Insurance Dollar contribution, please contact the Retirement office for help calculating your cost.
How to Calculate your insurance cost if your participation date is after 7/1/2003
Service Credit-Dollar Contribution Level Amount ($20.68*) x Years of Service = Amount KPPA Pays
$20.68* x 10 (let's say you have 10 years of service for this example) = $206.80
Service Credit-Dollar Contribution Level Amount ($13.78**) x Years of Service = Amount KPPA Pays
$13.78** x 10 (let's say you have 10 years of service for this example) = $137.80
Tobacco User Fees
The Commonwealth of Kentucky is committed to fostering and promoting wellness and health in the workforce. You are eligible for the non-tobacco user premium contribution rates provided you certify that you and any other person to be covered under your plan has not regularly used tobacco within the past six months.
Regularly means tobacco has been used four or more times per week on average excluding religious or ceremonial use.
Tobacco means all tobacco products including, but not limited to, cigarettes, pipes, chewing tobacco, snuff, dip, and any other tobacco products regardless of the frequency or method of use.
Dependent means, for the purpose of the Tobacco Use Declaration, only those dependents who are 18 years of age or older. If you have regularly used tobacco within the past six months, you are subject to the monthly fee as discussed below. For those with single coverage, the fee is $40.00 per month. For those with any dependent coverage (Parent Plus, Couple, Family), even if only one person uses tobacco, the fee is $80.00.
You should add either $40.00 or $80.00 to the premium amounts for your level of coverage.
KEHP Vendor Contacts
|Health Insurance Benefits||Anthem||844-402-5347||Anthem.com/KEHP
|Well-being Information||StayWell/WebMD Well-being||866-746-1316||KEHPLivingWell.com
|Shopper Discounts||Vitals SmartShopper||855-869-2133||SmartShopper.com
Other Important Numbers and Websites
|LiveHealthOnline||Online Medical Psychology and Psychiatry||888-548-3432||Anthem.com/KEHP
|24/7 Nurseline||24/7 Nurseline||877-636-3720||
|24/7 Substance Use Disorder telephone resource line||Substance Use Disorder telephone resource line||855-873-4931||
|Personal Health||Personal Health Consultants||844-402-5347||
|Diabetes Prevention Program||844-206-3728||solera4me.com/kehp
Retirement Systems' Phone Numbers
|LRP and JRP Retiree Questions|
Judicial Retirement Plan and
Legislators' Retirement Plan
|KCTCS Retiree Questions|
Kentucky Community and Technical College
|KPPA Retiree Questions|
Kentucky Public Pensions Authority
|TRS Retiree Questions|
Teachers' Retirement System